I know I haven't written and that's because my morale ---along with those I work with--has been so low that it takes all of my energy just to walk into our office...Speaking of our new office, it's been about a month and a half since we've moved in. The drive is only about 3 miles farther each way, but it's a traffic filled 3 miles and seems like it takes an hour longer. I'm going from my happy little suburb in the West Valley, to the alley-way of El Easto Valley. I guess it wouldn't be so bad...if I had air conditioning!!
So, let's talk about the building first. Now, our old building was a bit behind the times and if you didn't get there by 9ish, you were parking on the street or across the street. The bathrooms were tiny (there were 2 of them) but fairly close by. The office was small enough that you could yell to someone at the other end of the office (and yes, Sups and "helpers" were always doing that). This new place? Parking is really great. Really...no matter what time you come in you've got a place. The restrooms are nice and sparkling clean--although there is only 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs--don't worry, at least 6 stalls. The office itsself seems to me to be the length of a football field--although to be fair, I've never *walked* the length of a football field, so I'm probably wrong! lol. The restrooms are on 1 end of the field, meaning that if you are not on my team, you are walking quite a ways down. Me? I'm basically right next to them--sometimes a good thing...sometimes a noisy thing (I hear every toilet flush! roflmao) Me being on this end basically means that if I have a question or need help, I've gotta wait a while before someone sees me floundering.
This new office even has an elevator, for lazy people like me who would rather walk a bit farther to the elevator than to walk up the closer stairs (lol) I have found a nice, quiet place downstairs to read--comfy leather (ish) chairs and no tv. The old office had very few windows, leaving you feeling like you were working in a cave. This new place is covered with windows. I'm thinking they're bulletproof but always have thoughts of a disgruntled customer coming up and shooting them out. (You know me, dear Readers, always looking at the upside of things!) Customers still come in and it's still a bit funny to see them freaking out ...yeah, I take thrills in the little things. A couple of weeks ago, some lady got here after the office closed and was having a major meltdown, banging on the doors-like that was gonna help-til our old, feeble security guard went out there and told her to leave. She peeled out of there like no one's business...Yeah, that was a good day.
Before the move, I went through 4 Sups in a month's time. I missed my original sup, but then got a great guy who I think could have taught me so much (he lasted a month with me before he went on to greener grass) So I got put with a sup that I thought I would get along great with, only to find that due to a change, I would be with another lady....who then traded me...*traded me* for someone else. So...think of the scariest person you know...*that's* the sup I ended up with. Now, she works afternoon/evenings and I work mornings, so I don't see her so very much and guess what...she and I are more alike than I thought, even down to the books we read. And ya know what else? She isn't as smart as I thought she was...at least when it comes down to things like...hmm..I don't know...turning the volume down on her speakerphone!!
So, morale at the new office is a bit low this month but I'm kinda happy. We have a new "Big Bossman" and I like him...why? Cuz he's *NEW*. That means, he doesn't know anyone, therefore, no preferential treatment. Everyone is treated the same way. No one gets extra money for being the boss' favorite...no one gets better hour choices just because they are a better seller. Heck, he's even been letting us go home early if it's slow! (And it has been pretty slow) I've been doing half-days, basically... I've seen all the new movies and I'm a happy little camper! Which boss would you prefer? Someone who tells you like it is, no matter how bad it might be (as in--"We can't pay you the big bucks for sales because we don't have the money, so we are gonna change things to make it harder for you this month") or someone who tells you what he thinks you want to hear just to be popular (as in "Yeah, everyone's gonna get 3 days off when we move" but no one gets any time off cuz he "misunderstood")?
I know that I'm not great at what they pay me to do. Customer service I can do. Sales? Not so much, but I've been trying and now with the changes, I think I might have a chance...I'm hoping it's not too little, too late. I kinda figured if it got to the point where *I* was getting over 1000.00/month (before taxes) commission that something would have to change and it changed for the worst this month but it's gonna get better so I continue to have faith...
I hope you, Dear Readers, have faith as well....
My music..like it or not!
- So What by Pink
- Picture To Burn by Taylor Swift
- You Belong With Me by Taylor Swift
- Should've Said No by Taylor Swift
- Cheater Cheater by Joey & Rory
- Best Days Of Your Life by Kellie Pickler
- Loading Playlist...
Twitter Updates
Tuesday, May 26, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
Rules of calling Customer Service!
- 1. Before you call any 800 number--Please put your children, animals & significant others in a closet and lock the door til you're done. We really don't appreciate hearing your children screaming in our ears. We don't, in any way, find their antics nearly as priceless as you do.
- 2. Read your bill before you start bitching and whining about it. Read the front and back of all pages. Read it every single month. No company ever just puts charges on your bill just for thrills or to see how long it will take you to notice. All price increases need to be okayed by the FCC or PUC before they take effect and you are given at least 30 days notice.
- 3. It doesn't matter how long you've gone to school or whether you are a doctor,lawyer or Indian chief, I still know more about your service than you do. I know more about the technology than you do and I've got all day to listen to you as you lose your braincells. (And just so you know, whenver it gets very quiet, you are on mute as we *laaaaauuugghh*, tell our neighbors how stupid you are and wait for you to just....shut up)
- 4. Just about anything a "supervisor" can do, we can do...we just don't want to give it to you. Why should we? Sometimes it just feels better to piss you off.
- 5. Anyone over 60 must take a test before they are allowed to get any sort of electronics. If you can't operate it, you can't have it.
- 6. Please stop asking us how we are ..we really don't care how you are and you make us politely ask you after you ask us. Just start talking and whining about the problem so that we don't have to "mute" you (see previous posts about what happens when you are muted)
- 7. Do *not* eat or chew gum while talking to us. I can understand if you were catching up on lunch while on hold and I'm willing to give a little leeway but you better apologize for it and stop. Do you know how many times I've wanted to tell people that I can't understand them with their mouth full? And to ask them if their mother ever told them that it was just plain rude! I don't chew gum while I'm talking to you...do you consider yourself better than me? You think you are better than *me*?
Fun Stuff
Where I go to play....
Ron, Opie, Andy, and The Fonz...for Obama
See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die
About Me
- The Scarlett Angel
- Your dreams, Second Life, United States
- I'm the quiet girl who spends her lunch reading. The one that people say "was always smiling and sweet" when the newscaster interviews them after "the attack"--My lifestatement--A writer writes, always.
Doggie Heaven....
Rest in Peace-- my darling Scarlett...17 years together ...from the animal shelter to the end you were one of the sweetest things in my life...8/12/08

