My music..like it or not!

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Wednesday, July 30, 2008

    Rockin, Rollin...and Rants....

    So yesterday's lunch had a little rockin and rollin to it....a 5.4 earthquake. We are quite a bit away from the epicenter but every little roll scares those that have been through it before (The Northridge quake has left a lasting fear of sleeping in the dark ) Now, you can read Italo's blog (to your right, my babies) and his take on it...which is quite a bit different than mine. You know what they say--ask 10 different people and you get 10 different stories. So, here's my take on what happened...



    I was sitting down to lunch with Victor, at one of our off-center tables watching Judge Mathis (lol) when the table started to wiggle. I thought it was Vic wiggling his foot, so didn't think too much about it til I heard Jeanette mention the "E" word. By then the wiggling stopped and it was almost like time itsself stopped. And then the shaking started! Vic and I ran back into the office --for completely different reasons. He went to make sure his mom was okay. Me? I went to get my purse. I wanted to make sure that if we were going to evacuate, that I had all my stuff with me. There was some stupid girl in the doorway that said she wasn't moving and I really did just wanna push her over. (I could have taken her with one big push, lemme tell ya!) By then, the shaking had stopped and everyone was a bit discombobulated. We were looking for the big boss to say something profound. But as usual, no such luck. Now, if you read the news articles, they tell you not to run outside--there's more of a chance of you getting hit with some falling objects that way. The best thing would have been to get under the desks but no...the BloodSucker didn't recommend that either. Just for us to get back on the phones asap. I was still on lunch for another half-hour (cuz this is about noon) still trying to get through to my parents but of course, Verizon Wireless's network is gone. I can see Vic and his mom trying really hard to get through to his grandmother....his mom was still shaking...physically still shaking. The Evil Bringer of Doom was walking around with his cell-phone and not really paying that much attention to anyone else.



    Now, what Victor sees as the Hand of God coming down on the EB's head ...I saw as someone trying to cover his own ass. What kind of an idiot would he look like if he didn't let one of his employees go? What if something really happened (God Forbid and knock on wood) and she hadn't been there? Lawsuits and stuff. So, I watched as he put his hand on Elizabeth's shoulder and told her (in that slimy way he has) that if she feels that way, she should really go and then looked at Vic behind her and said that Elizabeth shouldn't be driving and suggested Vic take her home. I notice that he didn't say "If there is anyone who feels that they need to be with their relatives, then they should go".



    I was able to get a hold of my parents after about 15 minutes...they were fine but it was just odd the way some things fell and others didn't. My uncle Tinko's picture (he died way too early in his life, in '77) fell from the top shelf of the credenza but things that were in front of it didn't even move. In my bedroom, a picture of Jean Harlow that was sitting on one of my tvs (yeah, I said it...*one of*) ended up almost on the other side of the room.....but a tower of books I have yet to read didn't move an inch. (shrug) Who knows?



    Would I have gone, given the chance? Yes, but not for reasons you might be thinking. Lately I've been having some anger issues. As I get closer to work, the anger starts...and lasts til I'm about halfway home. The stupidity of some of my customers....the idiocy of some of my co-workers. Yeah, I've hatched some...plots ..in my head. Newbies who think they own the office and can do whatever they want ...people who insist that every conversation be about them or their puppy or their house..I'm just so tired of it. I wish I worked in a quiet little room. Somewhere that I could just close the door and not hear everything else. Peace and quiet. I think I could do my job a whole lot better if I had just....quiet. Now, life on Exile Island is far enough away that I don't hear most of my teammates (only 1...her voice grating on my nerves like fingernails on a chalkboard, as always) but I hear lots of other things. Saturdays when everyone who doesn't want to work congregates at the sup's desk right behind me...Sundays when the newbie cream stealer (see previous post) goes on and on about shit he knows nothing about ... It's all just too much sometimes...I get tired of always wearing a smile --except to 3 people, 2 of which have been mentioned in this post already, who don't deserve smiles...they get the ...(duh duh dummmm...) evil eye.



    I'm just tired, my babies...

    Talk to you soon....

    Monday, July 14, 2008

    Does it have *your* name on it?!

    Now, I don't know about you guys but I don't like anyone touching my stuff. Yes, I've got some cute things to play with at my desk (okay, maybe not cute...maybe odd....if you consider elves and dragons odd..lol) for *me* to play with, but that doesn't mean I am allowing you to play with them. The same goes for things like tissue and cream...hell, I would appreciate if you asked me to even borrow pushpins. I also watch out that other people don't "borrow" things from my friends' desks...

    So imagine my surprise at seeing some newbie jerkwad at Sam's desk...fiddling with something...then he comes around and rubbing all up and down his legs. He then said that he used her cream. I told him that it was someone's property and his response was...."but she said I could use it before". Before what? So I go...."So, if she had money on her desk and had loaned you some before....that would make it alright for you to take more?" Yeah, I was chomping at the bit to stomp all over someone. He just pisses me off....wrong information and anyone who takes over the tv where I sit...uhmm...no.

    Don't you sometimes just feel ....like you have to yell at someone? That you really want to just *punch* somebody? That you want to start a fight but you aren't sure why? Yeah, that's how I felt....I did it the week before to some Asian guy who wanted to park behind me in front of our house. I told him that it wasn't his place to park and pointed to the other side of the street, which was where he was visiting. He kept telling me he was only going to be there for an hour (he was there for at least 2 or 3....I checked) It's where my Dad parks and they are always takin his place....

    Boundaries, people....check your boundaries!!

    Sunday, July 13, 2008

    Raining Babies....

    A really quick "Congrats" to Brad and Angelina on the birth of their twins (for real this time!)
    A boy named Knox Leon and a girl named Vivienne Marcheline at 8pm Saturday night. Both twins came in at approx 5 lbs each!

    Finally, the wait is over!

    Thursday, July 10, 2008

    First...entertainment news....

    As mentioned in our last blog, Matthew (shirt? we don't need no stinkin shirts!) McConaughey and his girlfriend had a baby boy that they ended up naming Levi Alves --they say the Levi comes from the Bible, where Levi and Matthew are interchangeable, the same person. I say it's cuz he was looking at pictures of himself and noticed his jeans! And now they have sold the poor baby's soul for $3 million. That doesn't just include newborn pics, but also his first Christmas and first dibs should M & C get married--yeah, like *that's* gonna happen.

    Meanwhile, Brad & Angie's baby pic auction is up to $16 million....however, it does come with the caveat that whichever magazine wins cannot use the "Brangelina" nickname anymore...hmmm.
    But, at least you know B&A will probably donate all of the money to charity. Which is more than you can say for Britney's sis...$1 million for her pics in OK! mag..yeah, Casey's gonna have a fine old time at the local Walmart!

    Also, congrats to Olivia Newton-John, our favorite Greaser, on her marriage this weekend!

    As for me, I just got the new Nintendo DS Weight Loss Coach game...game? hmm...and it comes with its own pedometer....it's fun..yeah, I know I've got my Wii Fit but still....do you know how many diet books I have? Yeah, shut up....roflmao! But here's my horoscope for today, so you tell me if I'm doing right....
    July 10, 2008
    Gemini (5/21-6/21)
    It is a good day to focus on your health -- the clothes in your closet have not been shrinking, despite what you would like to think. Start keeping track of what you eat each day and how much exercise you get. You'll quickly see that there are painless changes you can make that will help you look better and feel better. Try nonfat milk in your coffee. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. Park at the far end of the parking lot. Treat your body like it's the only one you have -- because it is!

    OMG! Are they spying on me?

    Talk to ya later my babies!

    Tuesday, July 8, 2008

    It's raining babies again....

    Big Congrats to Nicole Kidman and Keith Urban on the birth of their baby girl, Sunday Rose...
    Also a new Hurray to Matthew McConaughey and his lovely girlfriend Camila Alves on the birth of their baby boy...

    And a big...Wow...again?! To other expecting couples--Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber (whose first child is less than a year old), singer Charlotte Church and her boyfriend (again, first child is less than a year old)

    We're still waiting for the Brangelina babies and Lisa Marie's huge bundle or bundles of joy....

    Me? Yeah, I'm having a virtual baby on Second Life (thanks, Sam!) all of the fun and none of the messiness!

    Monday, July 7, 2008

    Whiners and whatnot

    Yeah, I know...I haven't blogged in a while. Yeah, I know...what's the point of having a blog if I'm not going to blog? I apologize profusely and promise to do better, my babies....

    The purpose of today's blog is a situation that happened yesterday that ...at least to me...was the height of whining. It's what whiners aspire to. Now, I shall not provide the name of said whiner in order to protect her and her stupidity...let's just call her M***i, shall we? Now, she isn't on my team at work but sits close enough to Exile Island that I do have to hear her every freakin day .
    So, just to make sure that you know some background--Our job, like most jobs does give everyone vacation time and you pick your vacation just before the end of the year --for the next year. You are then given a paper which tells you what days you have (because not everyone gets their first pick, of course) Also, when you look at your schedule...which you can see a week at a time...you can see if you have vacation days. When it says "vacation", you should not be at work! So, I had checked the day's schedule to see what boneheads I would be working with and noticed she was off. So, when I saw her come in, it was a *bit* of a surprise. Before she could start working, our lovely Jeannette let her know that she was on vacation and should just go home. Well, she didn't feel that she had to. She felt that since she had gotten up,dressed and driven over, that she should work anyway! J-girl told her again....to go home. She didn't. She logged on and waited to take calls, stating that when a "real" supervisor came in, they would let her stay and reschedule her vacation day (the job doesn't do that ...at least not anymore...and many people the last few weeks *have* been sent home because...again...they didn't look at their schedules. ) So, the supervisor just happened to call Big (well, not so big anymore! lol) J to say they weren't coming in...so, J asked about the M***i situation and the sup told J to send M home. Simple enough, right?! NO....M***i wouldn't make it be simple...she was carrying on like she had been fired or something. Like she was some exception to the rule...screaming that she was going to tell the Evil Bloodsucker and how this just wasn't right and how was she supposed to remember these things when we schedule the days so far in advance. Look, **it was on your freakin schedule, you insepid little twit** And she had the nerve to blame J for the situation. Me? If I had been stupid enough to come in...woulda thought..."hell, yeah! I've got a day to just goof off...yeah, I'm goin home!!" but that's just me.

    I just hate people who think the world owes them. Like the other whiner on our team --remember the one who didn't care if she made anyone else late coming back from lunch as long as it was on her terms? Yeah, that one. The one whose voice grates on my nerves like nails on a chalkboard? Yeah, that one. The one that just can't keep her freakin mouth shut for five minutes? Yeah, that same one. The one who thinks everyone else should die and has said that cops should die? Yeah, that one! The one who uses her family as excuses as to why she can't come in to work on time and it mostly happens on Mondays? Yeah, *that one*. Maybe it's just Karma that the same person who says some people should die keeps losing members of her family? Maybe that's a thought she would want to keep in that "wanna-be" blonde head of hers. Maybe she shouldn't talk about stuff she has no knowledge of.

    Okay, I have vented for today and so I'm going to leave you with those lovely thoughts..also...Victor and Denise and Jerrie...hope you guys are having a wonderful vacation. Well, not all together, anyway!!

    It's Chocolate Day!! Have a huge fudgicle on me! Woo Hoo, my babies....

    Rules of calling Customer Service!

    • 1. Before you call any 800 number--Please put your children, animals & significant others in a closet and lock the door til you're done. We really don't appreciate hearing your children screaming in our ears. We don't, in any way, find their antics nearly as priceless as you do.
    • 2. Read your bill before you start bitching and whining about it. Read the front and back of all pages. Read it every single month. No company ever just puts charges on your bill just for thrills or to see how long it will take you to notice. All price increases need to be okayed by the FCC or PUC before they take effect and you are given at least 30 days notice.
    • 3. It doesn't matter how long you've gone to school or whether you are a doctor,lawyer or Indian chief, I still know more about your service than you do. I know more about the technology than you do and I've got all day to listen to you as you lose your braincells. (And just so you know, whenver it gets very quiet, you are on mute as we *laaaaauuugghh*, tell our neighbors how stupid you are and wait for you to just....shut up)
    • 4. Just about anything a "supervisor" can do, we can do...we just don't want to give it to you. Why should we? Sometimes it just feels better to piss you off.
    • 5. Anyone over 60 must take a test before they are allowed to get any sort of electronics. If you can't operate it, you can't have it.
    • 6. Please stop asking us how we are ..we really don't care how you are and you make us politely ask you after you ask us. Just start talking and whining about the problem so that we don't have to "mute" you (see previous posts about what happens when you are muted)
    • 7. Do *not* eat or chew gum while talking to us. I can understand if you were catching up on lunch while on hold and I'm willing to give a little leeway but you better apologize for it and stop. Do you know how many times I've wanted to tell people that I can't understand them with their mouth full? And to ask them if their mother ever told them that it was just plain rude! I don't chew gum while I'm talking to you...do you consider yourself better than me? You think you are better than *me*?

    Ron, Opie, Andy, and The Fonz...for Obama

    See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die

    TMZ, baby!


    About Me

    My photo
    Your dreams, Second Life, United States
    I'm the quiet girl who spends her lunch reading. The one that people say "was always smiling and sweet" when the newscaster interviews them after "the attack"--My lifestatement--A writer writes, always.

    Doggie Heaven....

    Rest in Peace-- my darling Scarlett...17 years together ...from the animal shelter to the end you were one of the sweetest things in my life...8/12/08