My music..like it or not!

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Wednesday, August 26, 2009

    Is a fat girl always a fat girl, no matter what her size?

    I have to confess...I'm a fraud...a complete and total fraud...


    At least that's how I felt as I roamed the aisles of our local Old Navy store. Now, I have never been in ON. Why? Hello....! I'm a fat girl. Who thinks ON has fat girl clothes? And how in the heck did I get here anyway??

    Well, I think I made my last trip to Catherine's. The smallest sized pants they have are a 16 and The Angel now looks like she is swimming in 16s (Yay me!) Do you know how long it's been since I've been too small to shop in plus-sized stores? *I* don't even remember how long it's been. I've been pretty bummed out that our local Target store no longer has a big girl department so I was just ...confused...as to where to go. So...as I was looking around Target....picking up a cute little Hello Kitty thingie for Sam (who still hasn't seen it cuz we just seem to pass in the night these days) I kind of slinked ...slunk?...to the women's department of Target ...they had jeans...real jeans..with a button and a zipper and everything...and they were a 14! Well, I thought...even if I don't fit into them now, I will soon...so I picked them up and brought them back. No harm in trying them, my pea-brain said....I don't know, answered my heart. The waist looks pretty tiny. So I put one leg in...and then the other...and then up they came...nice and snug on my thighs (it's okay, I've got regular sized thighs..it's just when you get above the thighs that the trouble begins...I'm an apple!) Now...to button...OMG...they buttoned...and zipped! I have *real* jeans ...from the regular department. ME! Okay, so they are a bit long..cuz I'm not. But they fit! They fit me! I was soooo excited...now, if I only had the butt ...but that's another blog altogether!.

    So, the next day I decided to face one of my fears and go into Old Navy. I know, it's not like Saks or some huge store, but I don't want to spend a lot of money on clothes I only hope to wear for a few months (til I can get something smaller) Cashiers asked me if they could help me..when all I could imagine them thinking is..."What is *she* doing here? Like we have anything that big?!" I went all the way to the back...the sales racks....not only did they have my 14s, but they had stuff in 16 and 18 and even a few sizes bigger! I got 3 pairs of pants there for the same price I would have gotten 1 pair at Catherine's. I know that you use more material for bigger clothes, but the prices are ....wow...that's all I can say. And then I went to Kohl's..yeah, I think they have a big girl department but you know what? I didn't want to go there. I went to the first rack I walked past and picked up the first jeans I saw. Lol...Gloria Vanderbuilt...all I could think was...I would have killed for them back in junior high...

    So, I've got myself a few pairs of pants in my "new" size (although I don't get to wear them yet cuz they are being shortened...as we speak) and it feels wierd. I feel wierd. I know that it's not like I've lost a lot of weight. But I'm also getting smaller clothes. Clothes that flatter my new shape. As Tajuana has pointed out (and Erika too about a year or so ago), I tend to wear big clothes. They are roomy and comfy and I don't have to think about anyone seeing...the rolls (and I'm not talking Royce..roflmao) but with these smaller sizes I've been wearing, I tend to be more self-conscious. My one saving grace is that my chest is still up and out ...lol. Thank goodness for the girls..they make me so proud! Lol...

    Anyway, I guess we are getting into the TMI portion of our blog...so going back to my first question....is a fat girl always fat, no matter what her size? Am I destined to always feel like the biggest one in the room? And if I am....is that a bad thing or a good thing?

    No comments:

    Rules of calling Customer Service!

    • 1. Before you call any 800 number--Please put your children, animals & significant others in a closet and lock the door til you're done. We really don't appreciate hearing your children screaming in our ears. We don't, in any way, find their antics nearly as priceless as you do.
    • 2. Read your bill before you start bitching and whining about it. Read the front and back of all pages. Read it every single month. No company ever just puts charges on your bill just for thrills or to see how long it will take you to notice. All price increases need to be okayed by the FCC or PUC before they take effect and you are given at least 30 days notice.
    • 3. It doesn't matter how long you've gone to school or whether you are a doctor,lawyer or Indian chief, I still know more about your service than you do. I know more about the technology than you do and I've got all day to listen to you as you lose your braincells. (And just so you know, whenver it gets very quiet, you are on mute as we *laaaaauuugghh*, tell our neighbors how stupid you are and wait for you to just....shut up)
    • 4. Just about anything a "supervisor" can do, we can do...we just don't want to give it to you. Why should we? Sometimes it just feels better to piss you off.
    • 5. Anyone over 60 must take a test before they are allowed to get any sort of electronics. If you can't operate it, you can't have it.
    • 6. Please stop asking us how we are ..we really don't care how you are and you make us politely ask you after you ask us. Just start talking and whining about the problem so that we don't have to "mute" you (see previous posts about what happens when you are muted)
    • 7. Do *not* eat or chew gum while talking to us. I can understand if you were catching up on lunch while on hold and I'm willing to give a little leeway but you better apologize for it and stop. Do you know how many times I've wanted to tell people that I can't understand them with their mouth full? And to ask them if their mother ever told them that it was just plain rude! I don't chew gum while I'm talking to you...do you consider yourself better than me? You think you are better than *me*?

    Ron, Opie, Andy, and The Fonz...for Obama

    See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die

    TMZ, baby!


    About Me

    My photo
    Your dreams, Second Life, United States
    I'm the quiet girl who spends her lunch reading. The one that people say "was always smiling and sweet" when the newscaster interviews them after "the attack"--My lifestatement--A writer writes, always.

    Doggie Heaven....

    Rest in Peace-- my darling Scarlett...17 years together ...from the animal shelter to the end you were one of the sweetest things in my life...8/12/08