My music..like it or not!

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter

    Monday, January 28, 2008

    Shut up and Listen, Will Ya?

    (I wrote most of this last night but since I feel like shit-coughing and a throat so sore I could hardly swallow-I did 2 alka seltzer cold shots and then melted into oblivion--only to wake right up at 2 am...blah)

    So, today I get to work and find that what our customers think of us now affects how much money I get in my commission. WTF?! And apprently I pissed a couple of them off. Let me just tell you this, Mr & Mrs Customer-If you read the Customer Service rules, you wouldn't have a need to even call. And--if you would just shut up, I really wouldn't have to interrupt you. I do not work at Burger King-you can't have it your way. The Customer isn't always right these days. Deal with it. As we hear so often these days (and I've been hearing and saying it since at least 2000 when it was told to me by a really great manager) *It is what it is* And if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Be sure to read *all* of the print on an ad before calling me. It's not your job, you say? Yeeeeeah it is....you are a consumer...buyer beware and all that crap. Is a mad customer going to stay mad through an entire call? Not necessarily. I had one lady screaming at me because something in her service wasn't working and was pissed off because she wanted credit for something that she isn't charged for (kind of like someone asking for credit for a sesame seed on the bun of their burger-everyone gets them...we can't remove it) *Until* I pushed a little button, she restarted her equipment and then everything worked the way it was supposed to (yah know I'm trying to give you as few details as possible about where I'm working--don't worry, when -yeah okay, *if*- I ever get fired, you will see it spilled all over this blog!) Then the Wicked Witch of the West turned into...well, let's just say she meeeeellllllttttted. Became this fawning, more annoying lady who couldn't tell me how happy she was with me and the service and everything. Pick a personality, lady!

    Sometimes I wish I could lie better. When giving my extension, I miss a number or give one of the numbers wrong but you know what? I can't. It's just not in my nature. I usually don't like giving it out because it gives that person the idea that we are their personal account representatives. Now, there are times when it's an issue that I know I can fix...and no one else has taken the time to. *Then* yes, I'll give it to you...but better to wait for me to call you so that I know my part is done. I did help this one kid (under 30) and gave him my extension. After that...I shit you not...he called me every freakin' week to ask questions. Not to buy any additional services but just to ask stupidass questions.

    Let me not forget those older people that are pissed off that they have to push 1 for English when they call or that some of the services they receive may contain some Spanish...stuff. They tell me "But this is America"...yep, it is...America, the Melting Pot. "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to be free". We ask them to come over and then whine when they don't assimilate to our culture? I'm one of those who feels if you don't like it here, leave. See how much you're going to be loved in other countries. People say you should respect the President--you can respect someone without blindingly believing everything they say and following their every command. I can love people who work for a company but not respect the lunkhead who runs it.

    Okay, I've gone off on some wild tangent that probably has to do with the meds so I'm just gonna stop here. All of that work stuff has gone to my brain which is hurting from being so freakin nice to people today. I think it's a stress issue....being so nice is just too stressful for me...yup, that's the ticket...

    Adios, Y'all...I am outtie like a bellybutton!

    1 comment:

    Italo said...

    I feel your pain dear Angel, I was on the LIST as well. I can't believe they take the customers that call in to COMPLAIN about their bills or those who missed their appointments to fill out that survey about how WE treated them this way or that way. What? So if I don't give you credit then you're gonna talk shit about me? Is that how it works? Why don't they survey those new customers we just sold or those people that we successfully get their services working (again I don't want to give out where we work, sorry) who you know will talk wonders about us. I mean, talk about the new hires that misquote prices, give free stuff when there's nothing offered, or give away all credit demanded without questioning and OF COURSE they're gonna get a better review than someone who followed all guidelines and rules before handing out stuff that we're not supposed to give out!!! I guess I should blog about it in my own blog but I wanted to vent a little here, too.
    Peace out, Angel!

    Rules of calling Customer Service!

    • 1. Before you call any 800 number--Please put your children, animals & significant others in a closet and lock the door til you're done. We really don't appreciate hearing your children screaming in our ears. We don't, in any way, find their antics nearly as priceless as you do.
    • 2. Read your bill before you start bitching and whining about it. Read the front and back of all pages. Read it every single month. No company ever just puts charges on your bill just for thrills or to see how long it will take you to notice. All price increases need to be okayed by the FCC or PUC before they take effect and you are given at least 30 days notice.
    • 3. It doesn't matter how long you've gone to school or whether you are a doctor,lawyer or Indian chief, I still know more about your service than you do. I know more about the technology than you do and I've got all day to listen to you as you lose your braincells. (And just so you know, whenver it gets very quiet, you are on mute as we *laaaaauuugghh*, tell our neighbors how stupid you are and wait for you to just....shut up)
    • 4. Just about anything a "supervisor" can do, we can do...we just don't want to give it to you. Why should we? Sometimes it just feels better to piss you off.
    • 5. Anyone over 60 must take a test before they are allowed to get any sort of electronics. If you can't operate it, you can't have it.
    • 6. Please stop asking us how we are ..we really don't care how you are and you make us politely ask you after you ask us. Just start talking and whining about the problem so that we don't have to "mute" you (see previous posts about what happens when you are muted)
    • 7. Do *not* eat or chew gum while talking to us. I can understand if you were catching up on lunch while on hold and I'm willing to give a little leeway but you better apologize for it and stop. Do you know how many times I've wanted to tell people that I can't understand them with their mouth full? And to ask them if their mother ever told them that it was just plain rude! I don't chew gum while I'm talking to you...do you consider yourself better than me? You think you are better than *me*?

    Ron, Opie, Andy, and The Fonz...for Obama

    See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die

    TMZ, baby!


    About Me

    My photo
    Your dreams, Second Life, United States
    I'm the quiet girl who spends her lunch reading. The one that people say "was always smiling and sweet" when the newscaster interviews them after "the attack"--My lifestatement--A writer writes, always.

    Doggie Heaven....

    Rest in Peace-- my darling Scarlett...17 years together ...from the animal shelter to the end you were one of the sweetest things in my life...8/12/08