Boys and girls, I don't even know where to begin this one--maybe by saying that you might find out the name of the Evil Empire before you know it.
Now, I'm a pretty easy going person...I've lived at being invisible for most of my life and really dread being in the spotlight. I don't like to be pointed out for either good or bad reasons but that may have to end soon.
I've tried to do what's been asked of me at this job that pays me...oh wait! We aren't allowed to talk about how much we make...not to anyone else in the Evil Empire. Anyway, I don't go on the internet at work, I don't sit and play with my phone or Nintendo DS, I don't give out wrong information just to get a sale...and I try to be as polite as possible (I was raised on "Please" and "Thank you" and it's one of my pet peeves not to hear it as much as it should be heard)--I'm trying my hardest at selling because that's what they told me to do. I'm being *even more* polite so that our customers will be happy with me when they get off the phone. But I can't ask them to rate me before they do. A customer will think what they want to think and depending on the person, may just push any button to finish off the survey. They don't care because it doesn't affect them. You can tell if a customer is happy with you..the only thing you can do is to make the experience as good for them as possible. Make them laugh...you can turn almost any situation around by making someone laugh. Apologize and empathize...man, how many times have I heard that in my 22 years of customer service? I just can't do it, boys and girls.
I heard that there was a meeting with the Evil Bloodsucker where he basically carved out a new asshole for everyone. I wasn't in those meetings because he tends to give them on my day off. Saturday, a male supervisor and the one sup that scares the shit outta me tried to drill it into my head. The male sup...I wish I could explain to him that to keep bringing something up over and over again throughout the day doesn't make it easier and the more he pushed, the more I stood by ground. Do I respect him? Ruel tried to tell me that I was showing disrepect by not doing what he told me to do. I do respect him...up to a point...but he's a "buddy" first and then a sup and it should be the other way around. Yes, you should be able to laugh and joke, but if you've never (in the year and a half that I've been there) acted like a sup, it's kind of hard to undo that in one day. If he would have just dropped it....
Anyway, I know my sup tried to drill it into my head how important it is...but AT&T tried to do it 10 years ago and it didn't work. Show me the research that says that it does...give me another way to get the point across because it just isn't going to flow out of my mouth...and the first time it doesn't and they are listening, it's going to be a verbal talking to...and there are about 4 steps that they can take. I say "can" because they don't have to. They can fire your ass whenever they want to. Where is there a customer service union that will prevent that from happening? A union that will make them stop changing our commission structure whenever they find that too many reps are getting more money that the Evil Empire wants to give? A union that will prevent them from using your vacation days when you run out of "sick" time-which you are still dinged for, even if you have it...explain that one to me?
I haven't even told you about their little "Rah Rah-We are the Best" breakfast that was "mandatory". Boys and girls, one brilliant leader there actually called our competition a disease that we must innoculate the public against. "Innoculate" was the actual word used. WTF? Oh...and get this...when you first got there, they gave you these packets (with work guidelines and stuff) and told you to just sign it now and rip the top page off so you can get a raffle ticket! Oh wow...so you want me to just sign something without reading it...just so that I can get a raffle ticket where I might win...oh joy of joys...a $25 Target gift card? OMG! Really? C'mon...
I don't really like to rock the boat...and the Evil Bloodsucker really intimidates me...he's got that smooth Latin thing going on..although the more I listen to him, the more I think he sounds like our mayor, Villarigosa...or whatever the hell the little man's name is. I'm not telling anyone else not to do it. I'm not encouraging anyone else in any way, shape or form to follow my lead. This is my stand and my stand alone. So, if there are going to be tears and you know me, I cry at just about everything...a very wise woman told me, they will be tears of frustration. And there are those that are going to say, "It's just one little question. You would throw it all away for one little question?" It isn't the question, boys and girls...it's what it represents. The Evil Bloodsucker has said he wants to get rid of about 60% of our crew...I'm just one little person. One person with 22 years of customer service under my belt...I don't work for the money...I didn't pick this Evil Empire because it was the highest paying job...I picked it because it's close to where I live...there are tons of places close to where I live...One little question indeed.
I'm not a sheep...I am not a sheep...I am not a sheep
My music..like it or not!
- So What by Pink
- Picture To Burn by Taylor Swift
- You Belong With Me by Taylor Swift
- Should've Said No by Taylor Swift
- Cheater Cheater by Joey & Rory
- Best Days Of Your Life by Kellie Pickler
- Loading Playlist...
Twitter Updates
Monday, March 10, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Rules of calling Customer Service!
- 1. Before you call any 800 number--Please put your children, animals & significant others in a closet and lock the door til you're done. We really don't appreciate hearing your children screaming in our ears. We don't, in any way, find their antics nearly as priceless as you do.
- 2. Read your bill before you start bitching and whining about it. Read the front and back of all pages. Read it every single month. No company ever just puts charges on your bill just for thrills or to see how long it will take you to notice. All price increases need to be okayed by the FCC or PUC before they take effect and you are given at least 30 days notice.
- 3. It doesn't matter how long you've gone to school or whether you are a doctor,lawyer or Indian chief, I still know more about your service than you do. I know more about the technology than you do and I've got all day to listen to you as you lose your braincells. (And just so you know, whenver it gets very quiet, you are on mute as we *laaaaauuugghh*, tell our neighbors how stupid you are and wait for you to just....shut up)
- 4. Just about anything a "supervisor" can do, we can do...we just don't want to give it to you. Why should we? Sometimes it just feels better to piss you off.
- 5. Anyone over 60 must take a test before they are allowed to get any sort of electronics. If you can't operate it, you can't have it.
- 6. Please stop asking us how we are ..we really don't care how you are and you make us politely ask you after you ask us. Just start talking and whining about the problem so that we don't have to "mute" you (see previous posts about what happens when you are muted)
- 7. Do *not* eat or chew gum while talking to us. I can understand if you were catching up on lunch while on hold and I'm willing to give a little leeway but you better apologize for it and stop. Do you know how many times I've wanted to tell people that I can't understand them with their mouth full? And to ask them if their mother ever told them that it was just plain rude! I don't chew gum while I'm talking to you...do you consider yourself better than me? You think you are better than *me*?
Fun Stuff
Where I go to play....
Ron, Opie, Andy, and The Fonz...for Obama
See more Ron Howard videos at Funny or Die
Blog Archive
-
▼
2008
(77)
-
▼
March
(11)
- The latest in Entertainment News....
- Dancing with the Stars...part two...
- Wanna Play Catch-up? Go loooonnnnng!
- OMG..I forgot a title....
- Yes..I'm still here
- Patrick...how could you?
- Reports of my demise have been greatly exaggerated
- My Interview with a Vampire....
- I am not a sheep!
- I say a little prayer for you....
- I'm Naked!!
-
▼
March
(11)
About Me
- The Scarlett Angel
- Your dreams, Second Life, United States
- I'm the quiet girl who spends her lunch reading. The one that people say "was always smiling and sweet" when the newscaster interviews them after "the attack"--My lifestatement--A writer writes, always.
Doggie Heaven....
Rest in Peace-- my darling Scarlett...17 years together ...from the animal shelter to the end you were one of the sweetest things in my life...8/12/08


1 comment:
I actually heard Ellen DeGeneres say EJACULATE, what was the actual word INNOCULATE? What the hell does she mean by that? Like we're the best thing is ever happened to our customers (wrong!!) I am too debating on whether or not following the herd. Other than being extra nice and respectful I can't understand what else we need to do for God's sake!
Post a Comment